eMedinewS Editorial

Health Care 10 Comments

Who is a better leader?

Recently, Sachin Tendulkar made a statement that Mahender Singh Dhoni was the best captain he has ever played under. In career span of 20 years, Sachin Tendulkar has played under several captains, viz. MS Dhoni, Saurav Ganguli, Mohammed Azharuddin, Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, K. Srikanth, Ajay Jadeja, Ravi Shastri and himself. His statement was, “Dhoni is the best captain I have played under, he is very sharp and always alert. He reads the situation well and is open to sharing the ideas. He also has discussions with bowlers, batsmen and senior players separately”.

In Vedic language, there are seven types of leaders. These are:

Stage 1 Leaders: Leaders with fight or flight response.

Stage 2 Leaders: Leaders with reactive response.

Stage 3 Leaders: Leaders with restful awareness response

Stage 4 Leaders: Leaders with intuitive response

Stage 5 Leaders: Leaders with creative response

Stage 6 Leaders: Leaders with visionary response

Stage 7 Leaders: Leaders with sacred response

Coming back to each stage, leaders with predominant fight or flight responses will not be able to manage the show during stress. For example, if India is losing or not doing well, they will try to escape playing a match with the pretext of injury or try to avoid the situation. Reactive response leaders will always believe in fault finding or they will always blame others for the defeat in the match. Leaders with restful awareness response will be calm, detached, silent and will be balanced in both loss and gain situation. Intuitive leaders will be the ones who will analyze their mistakes at every step for a better future. Creative leaders on the other hand will convert every adversity into an opportunity for doing something big. For visionary leaders, every threat is an opportunity to something bigger and implementing them. Sacred leaders are the ones for whom everyone is the same.

Most captains of the Indian cricket team, whom Sachin has mentioned were probably either leaders of fight or flight response, reactive response or restful awareness response. The classical example of reactive response in my opinion was Saurav Ganguli who was over–reactive in both loss and gain situations.

Mahender Singh Dhoni reacts differently to every stress. He is calm, balanced in both situations of loss and gains and converts every adversity into creativity. He is leader, probably of stage 5 or stage 6 i.e. intuitive or creative leader and that is the reason why even people like Sachin Tendulkar respect him as the greatest captain India has every produced in the country.

Garry Kirsten is another leader of visionary status as we have seen him only perform and not criticize anybody unlike John Wright or Greg Chappell.

It is equally important for us as doctors to understand these types of leaderships; find out the stage which we are at and then try to go a step higher.

Dr KK Aggarwal
Editor in Chief

Fatal error: Internal zval's can't be arrays, objects or resources in Unknown on line 0