IMA Mission Pink Health launched

Health Care, Medicine, Social Health Community Comments Off

This mission will incorporate Aao School Chale, Aao Gaon Chale, Anemia-free India, Welcome the Girl Child, and Adolescent health

New Delhi, 28 December 2017: The Annual Central Council Meeting of the IMA was held in Mumbai on the 28th of December 2017. The event saw the swearing in of Dr Ravi Wankhedkar as the National President of the IMA for the year 2018. IMA Mission Pink Health was also launched during the event, which went on to address various issues plaguing the medical profession today including the recently approved National Medical Commission (NMC) Bill and the need for professional autonomy.

Installing Dr Ravi Wankhedkar as the new National President IMA, immediate Past President of World Medical Association, Dr Ketan Desai, said, “The medical profession is facing the toughest challenge today and the time has come for everyone to introspect.” Delivering the second IMA Founder’s Day Oration, he said that doctors are different and cannot compare themselves with other professions. They need to be transparent and honest.

Dr KK Aggarwal, Padma Shri Awardee, who delivered the 1st Dr Ketan Desai Medical Statesman of the Highest Order Oration said, “Every doctor needs to file his or her financial return every year and that should include all types of wealth as mentioned in mythology under the head ‘ashta lakshmi’. These are ‘Adi Lakshmi: net return’, ‘Dhana Lakshmi: the monetary gains’, ‘Dhanya Lakshmi: agriculture health’, Dhairya Lakshmi: courage’, ‘Santana Lakshmi: new projects’, ‘Vijaya Lakshmi: the achievements’, Gaja Lakshmi: the HR strength’, and ‘Vidya Lakshmi: the gain in knowledge’. Monetary gain is only one of the eight wealth parameters.”

Dr Aggarwal also raised concerns on the incoming NMC Bill, which will take away the autonomy of the medical profession. Regulators need to have autonomy and be independent of the administrators. The NMC will be a regulator appointed by the administrators under their direct control.

Giving the first Late Dr VCV Pillai oration, Dr Ravi Wankhedkar, who also took over as the 89th National President of IMA, said, “My focus will be on community and public health education. A major emphasis will be on Mission Pink Health which will incorporate Aao School Chale, Aao Gaon Chale, Anemia-free India, Welcome the girl child, and Adolescent health.”

Dr R N Tandon, Honorary Secretary General, IMA, said,” Jiska Koi Nahi Uska IMA is the time-tested slogan of IMA. IMA members thus have the task of guiding everyone irrespective of their financial status.”

The IMA has added the following in the last one year.

  • New medical emblem for doctors to differentiate MBBS doctors from non-MBBS doctors
  • IMA self-regulation code
  • A one-day educational event on TB with over 1000 doctors in March 2018
  • IMA policy on preventing antibiotic resistance
  • IMA restoration guidelines
  • IMA declaration of pollution as public health emergency
  • IMA policy on writing NLEM drugs and capping the prices of non-NLEM items
  • New guidelines on criminal prosecution of doctors
  • IMA no incentive policy (no cuts, no commissions, no referral fee without service)
  • IMA accreditation of clinics, less than 50-bedded medical establishments and educational programmes
  • Aao School Chalen on 5th of every month
  • IMA One Drug-One Price-One Company policy

Straight from the Heart: Time to say Thank You

Health Care Comments Off

At an individual level, I earned a good mentor in Dr Ketan Desai – an intelligent man, a keen observer, a tough taskmaster, yet a soft emotional man from inside who opens up his heart like a child only with trusted old friends.

I found an erudite guide in Dr Ved Prakash Mishra - with his excellent command of the Vedas, the English language, Drafting and Medical Education; a philosopher in Dr Ajay Kumar – a person who is honest to his commitments; a genuine leader in Dr A Marthanda Pillai, with his quality of remaining calm and positive, especially in difficult situations; a trusted friend in Dr Ravi Wankhedkar and a true guide in Dr RV Asokan.

My thanks to Dr Jayshree Mehta, President MCI and Dr Vinay Aggarwal for all the guidance.

Special thanks to the National Vice Presidents - Dr Roy Abraham Kallivayalil, Dr Prakasam K, Dr Mahendra H Choudhary and Dr Parmanand Prasad Pal.

Throughout these years, my main strength has been my right-hand Dr RN Tandon, very ably supported by Dr VK Monga. Dr Tandon is a thorough gentleman and a lovable person to work with.

I also take a moment here to remember Late Dr VCV Pillai, who left us in August this year. Dr Pillai taught me the importance of wearing the IMA Pin with pride. When I was elected the National President IMA, he gifted me his personal IMA pin.

Thank you Dr Sudipto, may God give you a long life. Thank you, Dr Ashok Adhao for according me the respect of a son-in-law of Nagpur and Dr Arul Rhaj for your continuous inputs.

Thanks Dr Vijay Kumar for all the inputs. Thank you, Dr KV Babu, for your constructive criticisms.

Thank You Dr Narottam Puri, Dr Naresh Trehan, Dr Shubnum Singh, Dr Anupam Sibal, Dr KK Kalra, Dr Girdhar Gyani, Bejon Misra, Dr NV Kamat, Dr Vijay Agarwal, Dr Alex Thomas, Dr Alex Franklin, Dr AK Agarwal, Dr Arun Gupta, Dr Shiv Utture, Dr Jayesh Lele, Dr Sanjay Dudhat, Dr Dinesh Thakre, Dr Parthiv, Dr Chacker, Dr DD Chaudhury, Dr Jayalal, Dr Ravi Shankar, Dr Jaya Krishan, Dr Pradeep, Dr M Ashraf, Dr Murugunathan, and many more including Team Digital IMA.

Thank you Dr Ashwani Dalmiya, Dr Girish Tyagi, Dr BB Gupta, Dr Rajiv Dhir, Dr Ramesh Datta, Dr Vinod Khetrapal, Dr Naresh Chawla, and Dr Anil Goyal.

I must also acknowledge here Sanjay, Meena, Neeru and Dogra from IMA; Dr Sanchita Sharma, Dr Major Prachi Garg, Dr Uday Kakroo, Geeta Anand, Nidhi, Tanuja, Yogesh, Sanjeev, Dheeraj, Sanjiv, Deepak, Adib, Pranay, Manoj, Ram Singh, and Sapna from my personal staff for their help in various activities of IMA. I thank each one of them.

I would also like to express my thanks and appreciation to the IMA legal team Rahul Gupta, Ira Gupta, Aanchal Dhingra, and Shekhar Gupta.

I take this opportunity to say a special thank you to my daughter Naina, my son Nilesh, my wife Dr Veena Aggarwal, my nephew Saurabh and my future son-in-law Ankit for their constant support and encouragement in all my endeavors.

My special thanks to Shri JP Nadda, Dr Henk BekedamDr Mahesh Sharma, Dr Jitendra Singh, Shri Mukul Rohatgi, Shri CK Mishra and Ms Preeti Sudan, Sanjeeva Kumar, Arun Jha, Shri Arun Panda, Dr Soumya Swaminathan, Dr Anuj Sharma, Dr SY Quarishi, HE AR Kohli and Dr AC Dhariwal for all their help during these years.

A big thank you to Dr Vinit Ahuja and Dr R Guleria, who ensured that my health did not come in the way of my work for the Association.

Thank you to those, whose names I have not been able to mention all names here; you are always in my heart.

Friends, these years have been a period of self-learning. And, all that I have learned, I want to pass on as my legacy to Dr Ravi Wankhedkar. I will be there right by his side whenever needed.

The English philosopher and writer Thomas Paine said, It is not in numbers, but in unity, that our great strength lies.”

I seek forgiveness from all of you: “If in trying to achieve my goals during these years in IMA, knowingly or unknowingly, I have hurt your consciousness in my writings, speech, actions, or thoughts, kindly forgive me.”